rocket cat little lights cover

The following promotional opportunities have been scheduled to support the new release:

March 19th – Local/Live interview and studio performance at WMSE 91.7 6pm
March 24th – Play Anything TV interview and performance (Sun Prairie)
April 2nd – WI Music Buzz interview
April 3rd – The Great Unknown Radio – full album at 9am, 12 noon, 4pm, 8pm, 11pm
April 5th – LP release at Anodyne w/Flat Teeth and Mortgage Freeman 8pm
May 30th – 414Live interview and studio performance at Radio Milwaukee 88.9 5:30pm
June 1st – video premier screening & performance at No Studios w/The Keystones 7:30pm

For Immediate Release

Rocket Cat Releases Sophomore Album “Little Lights” on April 5, 2019

Milwaukee-based alternative pop/rock band Rocket Cat is releasing a 10-song LP on April 5, 2019 to all major digital streaming services. The two-time WAMI (Wisconsin Area Music Industry) Award nominee will host a release party at Anodyne in Walker’s Point with special guests Flat Teeth and Mortgage Freeman to celebrate the new album as well as their 3-year band anniversary. The show is all-ages and starts at 8:00pm. Tickets are $8 in advance, $10 at the door, and can be purchased at: In addition to the LP release, Rocket Cat is hosting a music video premier screening at No Studios on June 1st at 7:30pm with live performances from Rocket Cat and The Keystones.

Guitarist Chris Guse (Mixtape, Parallel, Jessie’s First Time), bassist Dave Maurer (Mixtape, Sacred, Signal Daddy, Parallel), drummer Steve Vorass (Mixtape, Sacred, Mouse Corn, Bright Black, I’m Not a Pilot), and vocalist/lyricist Suzanne Singh (Mixtape, Smack Leveaux) skillfully blend their backgrounds in alternative, progressive and hard rock, as well as power pop. Drawing heavily from the music of their youth, the band’s sound is fresh yet familiar. A careful listen often reveals an 80’s influence in a guitar riff, drum beat or vocal melody. The direction of the songs are often unpredictable yet accessible, sparking connections then slipping just out of reach. The songs are written with lush instrumental and vocal layers, giving them depth and fullness. Listeners can focus on the groove at the surface or immerse themselves into the density of the lyrics, melody and musical texture.

Singh weaves into the songs the visual imagery of light and shadows, guidance and direction, and reflecting on the joys and struggles of the past while reinventing oneself in the third stage of life. The lyrics examine life on the other side of youth. The ancient Icelandic vegvisir, or Viking compass, is an ever-present symbol of guidance and hope through the stormy waters. In “Sanctuary”, the strength and constant presence of the lighthouse symbolizes the friend you escape to when the seas of life get too rough. In “Little Lights”, children take the form of hope for the future when coping with the death of a parent. “A Thousand Echoes” and “Life on Fire” explore the dark side of hopelessness and depression, along with addictions that seep their way into your existence to fill the void. “Between Silence”, “The Corsair Song”, “In Parallel”, and “Over Again” speak to bad choices, love lost – and sometimes found again – and searching for a way out. “Paper Dreams” and “1989: Rise Up” are anthems of courage in the face of obstruction, with the latter being a tribute to the Romanian Revolution of 1989. Rise Up is a very personal reflection on the two years Singh spent in her early 20’s in a small Romanian town on the Serbian border during a very turbulent time in modern world history.